Thanks for visiting our website! Our Development staff is temporarily working remotely during this time, so we encourage you to make your gift in support of Oglethorpe students using our secured online giving form rather than by mail. If you have any questions or need assistance, please email

Gray Stone Society

The Gray Stone Society, named for the signature granite in our historic campus buildings, recognizes those generous donors to Oglethorpe University whose total philanthropic commitments have reached historic levels. Oglethorpe University’s Board of Trustees, administration, faculty, staff, and students gratefully thank these donors, whose generosity has strengthened and sustained this institution – built on enduring granite and nourished by the Gray Stone members.   

  • Anonymous (3)
  • Mr. H. Edgar Bodiford , Jr. ’49*
  • Mr. Robert E. Bowden ’66 and Mrs. Dixie Bowden
  • The CF Foundation
  • The Coca-Cola Foundation
  • Mr. John A. Conant (H) ’92* and Mrs. Miriam H. Conant (H) ’92*
  • Mr. Ralph L. Dempsey ’29* and Mrs. Virginia Dempsey ’27*
  • Mr. R. E. “Red” Dorough*
  • Mr. and Mrs. William A. Emerson*
  • Lettie Pate Evans Foundation
  • Charles A. Frueauff Foundation
  • Georgia Independent College Association
  • The Goizueta Foundation
  • Mr. Harald R. Hansen (H) ’08* and Mrs. Betsy Gamble Hansen*
  • Harland Charitable Foundation
  • Mr. William Randolph Hearst (H) ’27*
  • Mr. Eugene W. Ivy ’49*
  • Dr. Warren Y. Jobe (H) ’09 and Mrs. Sally Jobe
  • Mr. J. Smith Lanier, II* and Mrs. Elizabeth Walker Lanier
  • Mr. John Thomas Lupton (H) ’21*
  • Mrs. Belle Turner Lynch ’61 (H) ’10
  • Mr. Benjamin F. Moore ’52*
  • The Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation
  • The Rich Foundation
  • Mr. Mack A. Rikard ’37 (H) ’92*
  • Dr. J. Mack Robinson (H) ’95*
  • Mr. Donald J. Rubin ’56 (H) ’13 and Mrs. Shelley Rubin
  • Mr. Stephen J. Schmidt ’40 (H) ’86* and Mrs. Jeanne Fuller Schmidt ’42*
  • Mr. Paul F. Thiele* and Mrs. Bernice H. Thiele*
  • The Tull Charitable Foundation
  • Lettie Pate Whitehead Foundation
  • Emily and Ernest Woodruff Foundation
  • Robert W. Woodruff Foundation

* Deceased
(H) Honorary degree recipient